Coming Soon: November 2016

DILLON AND THE NIGHT OF THE KRAMPUS is a story I think is fairly unique for a pair of reasons I’ll get into in a minute and then I’ll explain why it’s being presented as this month’s feature on my Patreon page. First off, the story’s history. It was written for the 2014 PULPWORK PRESS CHRISTMAS SPECIAL and kinda just came to me in a rush as I had written a Dillon Christmas story for the 2012 volume and honestly had no intention of writing another one. That one; “Dillon and The Night Before Christmas” was a mash-up of “It’s A Wonderful Life” and “A Christmas Carol.”  Which I did because every time a writer decides to do a Christmas story with his/her favorite character they do either “It’s A Wonderful Life” or “A Christmas Carol.” So I figured by mashing up both stories into one, I’d do my obligatory Dillon story and get it over with.

So how did I come to write DILLON AND THE NIGHT OF THE KRAMPUS? It’s partly the fault of Joshua R. Reynolds, curse his hide. Long before The Krampus became a cultish rage, Josh was telling me stories about The Krampus. Yeah, everybody and their mother know about The Krampus now, but Josh was in love with the critter long before they were. I was intrigued with The Krampus and as I do with most ideas Josh gives me, I scribbled it away in one of my notebooks, figuring that I’d use it in a story later on. Which story, I had no idea. I certainly never thought that I’d use The Krampus in a Dillon story.

So how did The Krampus end up in a Dillon story? For a couple of reasons. I wanted to write a story where Dillon again has an adventure with Wyatt Hyatt and Reynard Hansen who he worked with in “Dillon and The Judas Chalice.” I liked the interaction between the three of them as they’re all black men but they’re all very different types of black men whose skills and personalities mesh well together. Especially Wyatt and Reynard who have a relationship that is not as contentious or as cantankerous as Monk Mayfair and Ham Brooks but that vibe is there and I wanted to explore it further.

The Krampus got into it because I wanted to write a Christmas story that was more of freewheeling, action/adventure filled romp than “Dillon and The Night Before Christmas” which was pretty dark and grim (but ended on a hopeful note, Thank Odin) and the idea of Dillon fighting a Krampus struck me as being just goofy enough to work.

is-krampus-real1

So I wrote the story and it was published and I thought no more about it. Until an odd thing started happening. One that is the perfect example of one of the things I love about writing: you never know what is going to resonate with readers and what they’ll pick up on. You can’t predict what readers are going to like and you’re a fool if you try. Just be glad when they do latch onto something and even more, they let you know what it is.

In this case, it’s a scene where Dillon reveals to Wyatt and Reynard that he has a house. Now if you’ve been following Dillon for awhile then you know what a shock this was to Wyatt and Reynard since Dillon has never before mentioned to them that he had a permanent residence somewhere. They’re even more amazed to learn that the dog they’ve come to Alaska to pick up is Dillon’s second dog. Here’s a picture of an Alaskan Husky, which is the type of dog Dillon prefers and that he names Festus.

festus

Wyatt and Reynard are naturally pissed off that all this time he’s had a permanent residence and a dog and he never thought to mention it to two men he claims are close friends of his that he’s been on dangerous adventures with where they’ve saved each other’s lives many times over. And they both quite loudly express their dissatisfaction with Dillon. To put it mildly.

The feedback I got from readers (stop your snickering. I do have readers. I DO.) was that scene was their favorite in the story and they wanted to know if I was going to follow up on it.  And while I didn’t have any ideas of doing so, once the suggestion was planted in my head, it took root and began to grow.

So starting next month on my Patreon page I’ll be starting a brand new serial which doesn’t have a title yet although I’m kicking around two or three of ‘em. What can I tell you? I have a hard time with titles. But what I can tell you is that the story will be a direct sequel to “Dillon and The Night of The Krampus.” which is why that story is going to be featured on my Patreon page this month so that those of you who haven’t read it can get caught up before the new serial begins. Dillon doesn’t manage to get Wyatt and Reynard back to their homes in time for Christmas for reasons that will be explained in the story. As compensation, Wyatt and Reynard demand that Dillon take them to his house along with their new friend, Professor of Occult History & Science, Folklore and Mythology, Ursula Van Houghton. That’s where the story starts and I promise you it’ll get wilder from there. And along the way you’ll hopefully find out a lot more about Dillon that will enhance your enjoyment of the character and his world.

Okay, that’s it for now. If this is your first time here, feel free to stay awhile, look around and maybe leave a comment or take one of the polls. Until next time, watch some good movies, read some good books and be good to each other. And don’t forget to vote, dammit!

And here’s a handy dandy visual aid so you don’t have to burn up brain cells imagining what Big Pig looks like:

international_cxt_pickup

Leave a Reply

