And Now Here’s Something We Hope You’ll Really Like…

courtesy of my esteemed colleague and collaborator Sean E. Ali. Mr. Ali? The floor is yours, sir.

So I’ve finally sat down to work on a DILLON book from your pal and mine, Derrick Ferguson…
He calls it THE DILLON ANNUAL – VOLUME 1, in my mind it’s more DILLON THE LOST ADVENTURES- VOLUME 1…
Because, really you know and I know “Annual” books tend to be whatever whenever but “Lost Adventures”…
…well hey, they must be special, right?
You bet.
This won’t be a redress of FOUR BULLETS FOR DILLON, though there is a certain belt buckle present and accounted for, for those of you who did pick that one up, as well as other Dillon rarities that were scattered about in collections and novelettes which are finally getting a home in the book formerly known as FOUR BULLETS…
My current assignment has left me with free time and it’s been a bit since I’ve laid out a book…
Dillon books have a set style I pulled together, so I’ll be sticking with that…
But the challenge will be the cover…
I have ideas but nothing concrete yet…
But it’s early days so why bring it up while it’s still a few miles down the road?
Because I’ve read a few things lately about how the print book is a waste of time. You don’t move that many and, truth be told ebooks are supposed to be where it’s at now.
So after this, I think I’ll learn how to lay out ebooks…
…then I think I’ll see how close I can get to setting up those things as close as I can to my idea of a print book.
And maybe I’ll wax nostalgic just a bit on what motivates me to go all out on a print book like DILLON or Barry Reese’s LAZARUS GRAY series over at Pro Se and why it may be a headache…
…but if I’m putting together the product, I’m trying to make your print dollars worth it.
When you pick up something where I’m in the credits, then trust me, every design decision was made with reader’s experience in mind.
If you got an ebook, you’re only getting half the story.
Now let me get back to work, I’m kind of hoping this cover idea will gel as I go on the book layout…

18622322_10206525948026157_7267601985684796425_n

Leave a Reply

