Believe it or not, when I started writing Dillon stories I never thought that it would go this far.  Seriously. I had ideas/plots for eight books and I thought I would write them up and that would be it. One adventure one right after the other. Boom, boom, boom and I’d be done. I hoped that the character would be popular enough to carry on for more but I didn’t keep my fingers crossed about it or plan on it. If it happened, it happened. If it didn’t, it didn’t.

But things change.

The more I wrote about Dillon, his friends, his enemies and the world he lives in more ideas for stories popped up on their own, most of the time when I wasn’t even looking for ideas for more Dillon stories. This led to me writing some stories that took place in between established stories and then there were stories written by other folks such as Joel Jenkins, Tommy Hancock (and soon Erik Fromme and maybe a few others but again, we get off subject) that had to go in between this one and that one.

This naturally led to people asking me when did such-and-such story take place and did this story take place after that one…

Can’t you people just read the daggone stories, awreddy?

In any case, it dawned on me that sooner or later I’d have to straighten out the mess I’d made and come up with a comprehensive chronology so that people would know what to read and in what order. Oh, sure, it’s easy for me because I carry around all this stuff in my head but 90% of you guys made it known to me that you would really appreciate it if I let you in on what should be read it what order.

And so here we are with what will probably be obsolete or incorrect in the next six months to a year but it’ll do for now. A chronology of the Dillon stories that hopefully will reduce the confusion but probably will just add to it.

First off, let’s begin with the current books that exist in the order that they were published:

Dillon and The Voice of Odin

Dillon and The Legend of The Golden Bell

Four Bullets For Dillon

Dillon and The Pirates of Xonira

The Vril Agenda

Young Dillon In The Halls of Shamballah

The Specialists


And now here’s where it gets confusing because this is the actual order in which the stories occur. Remember that Four Bullets For Dillon is an anthology of four stories and not a novel.

Young Dillon In The Halls of Shamballah

The Vril Agenda 

Dillon and The Bad Ass Belt Buckle (which appears in Four Bullets For Dillon)

Dillon and The Voice of Odin

Dillon and The Judas Chalice (which appears in Four Bullets For Dillon)

Dillon and The Legend of The Golden Bell

Dead Beat In La Esca (which appears in Four Bullets For Dillon and is the first meeting between Dillon and Sly Gantlet)

Dillon and The Pirates of Xonira (Note: There’s a eight month gap between Chapter One and Two and it’s during this period that “Dillon and The Alchemist’s Morning Coffee” takes place)

Dillon and The Last Rail To Khusra 

Dead Beat in Khusra 

Dead Beat In The Gobi

The Specialists

Dillon and The Night Before Christmas (which appears in Pulpwork Christmas Special 2012)

Dillon and The City of Stone (Coming in February of 2015)

Dillon and The Night of The Krampus (which appears in Pulpwor Christmas Special 2014)

Black Mask, Big City (This is a Pulptress story written by Tommy Hancock that establishes that Dillon at some point was a mentor to The Pulptress and taught her some martial arts. The story of how, where and when they first met has yet to be written)

And here’s a shot of The Pulptress herself as brought to life by the delightful Megan Smith:


So for now that’s how the chronology stands. Hopefully this cleared up some confusion but if it didn’t, let me know and we’ll take another whack at it.


2 thoughts on “Chronology

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s